Phone: (813) 276-5727
    Fax: (813) 233-3565

    Student Hours: 8:45 AM to 3:00 PM

    Uniforms: Mandatory Uniforms

                      Tops: Burgundy or Hunter Green Polo shirts

                      Bottoms: Khaki or Navy 

    Before School Program: Yes
    After School Program: Yes

About Us

  • Lockhart Elementary Magnet's beautiful campus is nestled in one of the historic neighborhoods of East Tampa. Lockhart provides its students an engineering-based curriculum, Project Lead the Way (PLTW), promoting student collaboration to solve real-world problems. Not only is Lockhart the only elementary school in the district to offer this nationally recognized program, but it also incorporates an environmental theme into each of the individual grade level's curriculum: Excited Explorers, Radical Reducers, Caring Conservationists, Sensible Sustainers, Proud Preservationists & Enthusiastic Engineers.  To further enrich our students' educational experience Lockhart has beautiful gardens, including hydroponics garden, aquaponics garden, and certified butterfly habitat, located around the campus that the students are empowered to learn from and maintain. Lockhart also has an award-winning drumline. Students at Lockhart have opportunities for clubs unique such as: Flight Team (using flight simulators and drones), Little Kids Rock Band, STEMinist Club for girls, LEGO Robotics team, gardening, and art. At Lockhart Elementary, we prepare students to be critical thinkers, problem solvers, and responsible members of society. 

School History

  • In 1952, College Hill Elementary School opened as an African American School after the old Robles Pond School was closed. In the 1960's, College Hill was renamed the John W. Lockhart School, who served as the school's first pincipal. After desegregation in 1971, Lockhart became a 6th grade center. As part of the middle school conversion, Lockhart Elementary began serving grades K through 5 in 1997.